Three Terrebonne General Medical Center Staff Members Named “Health Care Heroes”


Houma, LA.—New Orleans’ CityBusiness recently revealed the honorees for their 2012 Health Care Heroes Award selecting three employees from Terrebonne General Medical Center (TGMC).  TGMC President and CEO Phyllis Peoples, Medical Director of the Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center at TGMC Dr. Raul Doria and Director of Women’s Services Laura Poole, RN are among the healthcare professionals honored.

In its sixth year, the annual Health Care Heroes awards are given to 50 healthcare professionals in the New Orleans area who have achieved medical success, made contributions to the community and had a significant impact on the local healthcare industry. Awards are given in six categories:  Nurse, Physician, Professional, Volunteer, Animal Care, and First Responder.

Phyllis Peoples is honored in the Professionals category for her herculean efforts to continue to improve the service lines TGMC provides for the tri-parish community. Dr. Raul Doria is recognized in the Physician category for his outstanding oncology work at the Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center at TGMC, and his community support groups for cancer patients and their families. Laura Poole is selected in the Nurses category for her ongoing commitment to the patients and nursing staff of the women’s center at TGMC.

"We are honored that two of our employees and one of our physicians have earned the prestigious designation of Health Care Hero,” said Morris Hebert, Chairman of the TGMC Board of Commissioners.  “Mrs. Peoples, Mrs. Poole and Dr. Doria exemplify our priority  to continue the delivery of exceptional healthcare to our friends and neighbors as we serve the tri-parish community with compassion and dignity.”

CityBusiness Health Care Hero Honorees will be recognized at luncheon on May 10, 2012 at the Ritz-Carlton New Orleans.  A special insert profiling all of this year’s Healthcare Heroes will run in the May 18th edition of CityBusiness. The TGMC faculty will be featured in their individual categories for their respective wins.


For more information please call